Call me Russ L

Saffy, daaahhhling…

Posted in Food by Russ L on 27 March, 2006

In honour of a certain day of the year, the parentals were kind enough to take me to Saffron. It’s only down the road a bit from us, but I’d never been before because I’d never fully believed you could have a nice quality restaurant around here. Cheap and cheerful, certainly, but not nice. My interest was nonetheless captured after reading read a few good reviews of the place on Birmingham Plus (a useful website if you’re local, incidentally), and so off we went.

I had jhinga (prawn) puree to begin, and found myself surprised (in a good way) by that which I received – I was expecting, well, puree. In a dish. As it turns out, it was fairly dry and in a wrap. Very nice, too – with tamarind and orange sauce, and the prawns themselves were very good quality, flavourful and meaty. For my main I had a mixed Tandoori grill, with chicken, lamb and king prawns. The tandoori flavouring was fairly delicate but worked well, and they were nice cuts of meat.

The service was a bit frustrating, admittedly – the waiters seemed to be very hover-y all evening, right up until we came to pay (when you actually want a bit of prompt attention) and as a man they vanished out of range. After waiting an age for change that didn’t arrive we just left – the decision had been made to leave it as a tip anyway, but it still seems a bit bad that they didn’t actually bring it back to us.

Other than that, though, it was very enjoyable.

~ Russ L

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. helen said, on 27 March, 2006 at 4:57 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it son, I live to please you, my little dumpling

  2. Russ L said, on 27 March, 2006 at 6:05 pm

    That just sounded creepy.

  3. Rach said, on 27 March, 2006 at 11:17 pm

    Hi honey,

    Love the web site, will make a point of checking whats new every few days.

    Live long and prosper!!!

    Rach
    xxxxx


Testify.

