Call me Russ L

Going for the Jug-ular

Posted in Music by Russ L on 25 February, 2006

Gig number three out of my four-card trick, and lord o’mercy was I tired. I suppose it’s appropriate to feel practicaly dead at a gig involving a band with the word ‘Lazarus’ in their name, but the irritating thing was that it wasn’t really the gigs on the nights or the going to work in the days that was making me so cream-crackered: I just hadn’t been sleeping too well between them. This was Tuesday the 21st, anyway, and it was off to The Jug Of Ale with me.

I was expecting Chinook & The Charged Particles to open, but it turned out that D. Louis Baker & Friends had replaced them. It’s a fair swap. Our man Baker (and his friends) seemed to be sounding a bit rockier this time, particularly on a new song I didn’t catch the name of but also in general. This apparent shift in emphasis didn’t change the fact that they’re really bloody good songs, and combined with probably the best sound I’ve ever heard for an opening band at The Jug we have a situation where – as I believe the kids these days say – it’s all good. If you haven’t got a copy of the demo yet then sodding well get one, it’s ace.

Next up were Lazarus Clamp, and initially it was a case of “what’s wrong with this picture?” As I looked at them there was something nagging away at the back of my mind, but I simply could not figure out what. Only later when they swapped guitars and someone shouted “It’ll be the wrong way round for him!” did I realise – the neck of one of their axes was pointing in a different direction to the rest. Damn left-handers. It’s funny how unsettling something like that can be when you know something is off but can’t quite place it.

There were all sorts of different things going on in their music, anyway, just none of it that hugely impressive. Their first song was a White Stripes-y overwrought blues rock affair (albeit with bass), and they subsequently went on to variously make use of indie-folk, some expansive post rock, and some simply straightforward melodic rock. None of it stood out as interesting or catchy, though. Not bad but… meh.

Chris Brokaw was the headliner but I really had to leave after Lazarus Clamp, before I fell asleep on my feet.

~ Russ L

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ben said, on 26 February, 2006 at 6:10 pm

    Shame you didn’t feel up to staying around for Chris Brokaw. I’m a bit of a fan of his – I love both Codeine and Come. Saw him playing solo in support of J Mascis a few years back – good stuff.

  2. Russ L said, on 26 February, 2006 at 7:09 pm

    Such is life. I would have liked to, but there we are.


Testify.

