Call me Russ L

There are far too many bands with the word ‘fallout’ in their name these days

Posted in Music by Russ L on 15 February, 2006

I would have written about this one much sooner, but I haven’t been feeling very well just lately and really wasn’t in the mood for it. On the monday before the one just gone (that’ll be the 6th of Feb) I saw me old mucker Trig for the first time in ages. For no obvious reason I’d been given a couple of free tickets to see The Fallout Trust at The Barfly by a grinning halfwit (thanks!), so after a couple of pints in The Dubliner there we went.

I’d never heard of the band prior to the day before, and although I’d listened to one of their songs in the intervening time I still wasn’t fully sure what was in store. There were six of ’em, made visually interesting by the fact that the singer definitely looked like someone else but I couldn’t put my finger on who, and by the appealing (ahem) lady keyboard player. Their music is firmly within that currently popular retro indie sound, very The Jam-via-Kaiser Chiefs. Their songs, however, don’t seem to be as 100% formulaic as a lot of the bands practicing all that at the moment, and (more importantly) seem to be very good. They have quite a few almost Beatles-ish harmonies, and the keyboard player taking up a violin on some songs was a nice touch too. The definite highlight, in fact, was a big ballady number sung by one of the guitarists (or possibly the bassplayer, I forget this far after) where said violin came to the fore.

Good stuff. Yet another band to pay attention to.

~ Russ L

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. James said, on 15 February, 2006 at 10:16 pm

    The halfwit paid off then!! Glad you liked it.


Testify.

