Call me Russ L

Ready for this yet, boy?

Posted in Music by Russ L on 31 January, 2006

There have been two gigs in the past week that I haven’t waffled about yet, and both of them (in different ways) annoyed me greatly.

Bedouin Soundclash played at The Academy 2 on sunday the 22nd. The Academy is now charging £3.05 for the watered-down Carling they sell. Three pound and bloody five! Ridiculous. I have vowed never to buy another drink in the place (unless they have a round of price-cuts). I will stand there without one. If, incidentaly, you’re also someone who feels strongly about matters like this then come and vote in this survey.

Vernon Maytone supported, with Bedouin Soundclash themselves as his backing band. Several threads of confusion all became neatly tied up and sorted out through this – I’d wandered who did the original version of “Money Worries” on the Bedouin Soundclash album, and I was thinking that this Vernon Maytone who added vocals to it sounded familiar. In retrospect I slap my forhead at my own dur-brain-ed-ness – it was by The Maytones, of course. Vernon Maytone is the former singer of… yeah.

Great set, anyway. The Academy 2 is a terrible place for reggae (well, it’s a terrible place for anything, but you know what I mean) and I would have preferred a more traditionaly rub-a-dub styled backing band than Bedouin Soundclash (some brass would have been gorgeous), but you can’t keep a good man down. Really sweet rocksteady/lovers rock type stuff, with a beautiful voice and some great songs. It was interesting to see the majority of the crowd (seemingly primarily punk/indie fans) start off slightly dubious and end up loving him.

Bedouin Soundclash said they would be back ‘in fifteen minutes,’ but it took them half an hour. Bah. I’m having trouble (as usual, no change) remembering a lot about their set over a week later, but they opened with an absolutely stonking ‘Living In Jungles’ with the crowd shouting along with the ‘Blood upon your shouldah’ (how did it get up there?) and “You nuh ready for this yet boy!” parts. ‘Gyassi Went Home’ was great, too, but the highlight was a dubbed out and extended version of ‘Criminal.’ They did do absolutely loads and loads of covers and medleys of other songs (someone else described it as “Getting a bit Jive Bunny’s Mastermix by the end”), which although generally good detracted slightly, but never mind. Fantastic set, with the songs from the new album coming out later this year sounding good too. I can’t wait for that one.

Nuts to the Academy, though.

~ Russ L

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. James said, on 31 January, 2006 at 10:52 am

    I was expecting a humourous rant about our gig then, and I was let down. Hurry up I want to read it!!! Your public awaits.

  2. Russ L said, on 31 January, 2006 at 4:58 pm

    Bah. You. Get your own blog if you want to see promptly-written entries.

  3. James said, on 31 January, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    I like reading yours more than my own warblings.

  4. scott said, on 6 February, 2006 at 7:21 pm

    fun isnt it


Testify.

