Call me Russ L

Third gig of the new year

Posted in Music by Russ L on 26 January, 2006

I’m getting really behind with this (yet again), so I’d better write something. I promise I’ll stop using that as a title from now on.

Last tuesday (17th) I went up to Wolves, and mercy mercy me was I looking forward to it. Corrosion Of Conformity and Clutch playing together sounded like the gig of the century to me. Add the fact that Stinking Lizaveta were supporting (I’d never bothered to listen to them until about a week before the gig due to the ‘orrible name, but when I did I quite liked them. It seems that the name ‘Lizaveta’ is from Dostoevsky. I was not aware of that. I’ve only read ‘Crime And Punishment,’ that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. I seem to have digressed…) and this gig had all the potential in the world.

Over to Wolves, then, quick pint in the Wetherspoons and on to the Wulfrun. A lot of people were rocking the ‘Bill Bailey’ look. It was quite disturbing.

Stinking Lizaveta were fan-bloody-tastic. They’re vaguely, distantly reminiscent of an instrumental Sabbath, but spacey in places, jazzy in others, and always rocking. They’re also fun to watch, with some great poses from the cavething on guitar. The whatever-it-was playing upright fretless bass was fantastic, grabbing all four strings at once and wrenching them together. Really good stuff, now I need albums.

Clutch are probably the best rock band practicing at the moment, as far as I’m concerned. This gig only added to that impression. They groove so well, to the point where the fact that they don’t seem to play their best songs very often barely seems to matter. I can see their jamming putting people off, and I’m not usually a massive fan of that sort of thing myself, but I think they do it well. The most important thing is that they never lose sight of the aformentioned groove, but even with that aside – the jamming might not go anywhere but it always tends to lead somewhere.

Probably not the best time I’ve seen them, anyway, but still great. Set of the month so far (although there’s still Nick Cave to go).

Corrosion Of Conformity were good, but slightly disappointing in only being ‘good.’ ‘Deliverance’ and ‘Wiseblood’ are two of my absolute favourite albums, but admittedly they are both from aroundabout a decade ago and so basing my hopes for modern-day live COC on them was a little unfair.

They rocked well enough, of course, but the soulful element you find on those albums just wasn’t present. Oh well. I don’t want to sound negative, because they were still a lot of fun – ‘Albatross’ was great, and ‘Clean My Wounds’ absolutely stonking.

~ Russ L

Testify.

