Call me Russ L

Very Cross Moose (Peas On Earth)

Posted in Modern Living by Russ L on 8 January, 2006

Originally posted on 8/12/5.

I’ve done my xmas shopping now. Whoo! There’s one thing I’ve ordered that hasn’t turned up yet, but for all intents and purposes it’s finished with. I don’t buy for very many people, but I’m glad I’ve got it out of the way.

I love Christmas. At this time of year a lot of people I know always become insistant on demonstrating that they can’t seperate a specific ritual from a wider social phenomenon, but sod ’em. They ain’t gonna spoil my excitement. People who otherwise have no interest in religion pontificate endlessly about how Christmas has moved away from its roots. Would those be the Christian or the pagan ones we’re talking about? And why is the concept of ‘goodwill to all men’ specificaly bound up with either?

I realise that wasn’t very goodwill-ified but it is something that gets on my nerves.

I like mince pies. I like tinsel. I like time off work. I like Christmas music. Xmas is ace.

~ Russ L

Testify.

