Call me Russ L

You’re in AMERICA now. Speak AMERICAN or YOU’LL BE SORRY.

Posted in Modern Living by Russ L on 7 January, 2006

Originally posted on 26/9/4.

Just a thought, but has anyone noticed the tendency of many (British) folk to use the American term of choice on every occasion? Don’t even get me started on ‘math’ instead of ‘maths’, and on using band names as singular nouns, and on the entirely nonsensical “I could care less” instead of “I couldn’t care less”, but given the fuss that people make over things like rising ascension, I’m surprised that more isn’t made of this. The examples that strike me off the top of my head are:

‘Mad’ instead of ‘angry’
‘Store’ instead of ‘shop’
‘Guess’ instead of ‘suppose’ or ‘imagine’
‘Show’ instead of ‘gig’ (that one, admittedly, is mainly hardcore kids trying to sound cool)

…as well as plenty of others.

They’re not exclusively American turns of phrase, obviously, but using them exclusively is.

I’m not suggesting it constitutes a problem by any means. I’m just surprised that it isn’t commented on more often.

– Russ L

Testify.

