Call me Russ L

Would I be The Happy Phantom?

Posted in Music by Russ L on 7 January, 2006

Originally posted on 3/6/5.

Plenty of big happenings just lately. A few people, unfortunately, have been left behind. One of these people actually once told me to spend less time caring about people who don’t care about me. Well… that’s what I’m doing. I’m not really happy about any of it but it’s probably for the best.

Hmmmmmmm.

I went to see Tori Amos at The Civic Hall in Wolves last night, and it was a bit of a disappointment if I’m honest. I arrived at about ten-to-nine (due to working late) and she was already onstage. Tom McCrae was supposed to be supporting, and I’m not sure whether or not missing him was a big loss. Everything I’ve heard by him has been on the dull side, but a lot of people seem to really love him so I’m always left wondering what I’ve missed. Irrelevent, anyway.

Tori’s set was… sterile. Clinical. A teensy bit dull. I really am reluctant to use any of these words as I think she’s absolutely captivating on record, but this came across as an emotionless recital rather than anything else. I get the feeling she was putting her absolute all into it, but it just didn’t carry over the vast expanses of The Civic. Maybe pressed up against the stage in a little pub it would have been much more affecting, but it’s been many-a-year since Tori played venues like that regularly.

It’s a shame. I’m not proud to add that I left early. I would have stayed till the end were it not for the fact that they weren’t allowing you to bring drinks from the bar into the main room. The world needs to realise that I mustn’t be seperated from alcohol, and the world needs to realise it fast.

~ Russ L

Testify.

